Canadian Cancer Action Network announces new Chair

On behalf of the Canadian Cancer Action Network (CCAN) Board of Directors and Secretariat, we are extremely pleased to announce our new incoming Chair, Lynette Hillier. A current member of the CCAN Board of Directors, Ms. Hillier is Executive Director of the Dr. H. Bliss Murphy Cancer Care Foundation in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador. With over 15 years of experience in the fundraising profession, Lynette is passionate about Cancer Care and inspired by donors who embrace the mission of the Foundation to enhance cancer care services across the province in close collaboration with Eastern Health’s Provincial Cancer Care Program.

A graduate of Acadia University, Ms. Hillier has served on a number of provincial and national organizations including the Provincial Cancer Services Quality Committee; Provincial Steering Committee for the Cancer Control Initiative – Enhancing Cancer Care Services for First Nations, Inuit & Metis in Labrador; Review Committee Member for Enhancing Health Care in NL Research Fund; Association of Fundraising Professionals Executive as both Chair and Vice-Chair; National Cancer Survivors Day Committee for NL; a member of Canada’s 1st Advocacy Day on Parliament Hill to support legislation for National Philanthropy Day and a member of the Association of Fundraising Professionals International 1st Leadership Academy .

Ms. Hillier assumes the role of Chair during the October 6, 2020 CCAN Annual General Meeting replacing outgoing Chair, Ms. Jacquelin (Jackie) Holzman. She looks forwarding to working with the Board and membership to continue to build on the successes of Ms. Holzman’s term in engaging and mobilizing the Canadian cancer patient community to address issues in cancer control.